About EEA and Norway Grants

The European Economic Area (EEA) and Norway Grants represent the contribution of Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway to reducing economic and social disparities in the European Economic Area and to strengthening bilateral relations with the 15 beneficiary countries in Eastern and Southern Europe and the Baltic states.

In total, the three countries have provided €3.3 billion through consecutive grant schemes between 1994 and 2014. A further €2.8 billion has been made available in the 2014-2021 funding period. The EEA grants are jointly funded by all the three donors, while the Norway Grants are funded exclusively by Norway and are available in the 13 countries having joined the EU after 2003.

Funding is channelled through financing programmes, under specific priority sectors, while the areas, objectives and expected results are established with each beneficiary country.

For more details on the EEA and Norway Grants see www.eeagrants.org.